bestfreephotoshopalternative.com
layerbench — versus_chatgpt-vs-copilot-free-images.session

ChatGPT vs Microsoft Copilot: Free Image Access, on Official Pages (2026)

ChatGPT's tiered image creation vs Microsoft Copilot's free tier with a Microsoft account, each read from its own official page on 2026-10-14. What each page states, and what it leaves out.

matchup chatgpt-vs-copilot-free-images run 2026.10 fields verified only

Verdict: ChatGPT if you want image creation that scales up through paid tiers, with an opt-out on training. Microsoft Copilot if you want a free entry that needs only a Microsoft account. The comparison rests on what each official page states; this site does not test image quality.

Scorecard

Read on 2026-10-14, the table lists what each vendor’s own page says and leaves blank what it omits. A blank is a gap in the page, not a verdict on the product.

field chatgpt microsoft copilot source
free tier Free with limited image creation free with a signed-in Microsoft account chatgpt.com/pricing; copilot.microsoft.com
image creation Free (limited), Go, Plus, Pro (more, more complex) AI-generated images from a description chatgpt.com/pricing; copilot.microsoft.com
training content used to train models; opt-out available not stated in captured page chatgpt.com/pricing
access web, iOS, Android not stated in captured page chatgpt.com/pricing
plan prices not shown in captured page not shown in captured page chatgpt.com/pricing; copilot.microsoft.com

What the ChatGPT plans page covers

OpenAI’s plans page lists image creation on Free, which is limited, and on Go, Plus and Pro. The page describes the image creation on the higher tiers as more, and more complex, than on Free. It also includes a privacy line that states content is used to train the models, with an opt-out available. The same page lists web, iOS and Android as places the product runs.

For a buyer, the useful part is the sequence. You can begin on the free tier to see whether image creation fits the work, and move to a paid tier only when the limits start to matter. The page does not give plan prices in the captured text, so this comparison does not compare cost.

What the Copilot page covers

Microsoft’s official page describes a no-cost level of Copilot for anyone with a Microsoft account. It adds that Copilot’s capabilities are subject to usage limits, and that more are available through paid plans. In its creation section the page invites you to describe what you want to see and bring the idea to life with AI-generated images.

The page does not state how many images the free tier allows, and it shows no figure for the paid plans. Those two gaps are the main reason this comparison leaves cost out.

Copilot’s edge

A low-friction start. The free tier needs only a signed-in Microsoft account, and the page places AI image creation next to chat, research and writing features in one sign-in. If you already use a Microsoft account for other services, the first image costs you one sign-in step.

ChatGPT’s edge

A clear upgrade path. The plans page sets out image creation across four named tiers and states an opt-out for training. Those are two fields a buyer weighing free against paid can read directly from the vendor’s own text.

Training and privacy, read side by side

ChatGPT’s page says content is used to train its models and names an opt-out. That is a specific statement, and it is the one of the two pages that answers the training question directly.

Copilot’s page takes a different tone. It says Copilot responds only when you choose to use it, that your existing privacy and security settings continue to apply, and it links to the Microsoft Privacy Statement for more detail. The captured text does not say whether prompts or images are used for training, so this comparison leaves that field empty rather than guessing.

Editing is outside this comparison

Neither captured page describes editing tools for existing images. If your work depends on changing a photo you already have, these two pages do not answer that question, and you should look at tools that document editing directly.

Who each one is for

Before you start

Check three things. Which tier does your work need, and does the free limit cover a trial week? Does your account already sign in to Microsoft, or would a new account be a second login? Is training on your images a dealbreaker, and if so, does the vendor page give you the setting that matters?

Limits of this comparison

bestfreephotoshopalternative.com has not run side-by-side output tests, offers no legal reading of commercial use, and keeps each vendor’s statement inside the words its page uses. Usage limits and plan terms can change after 2026-10-14, so the linked pages are the reference for any figure.

FAQ

Which one is free to start with?

Both have a free tier. ChatGPT's official plans page lists Free with limited image creation. Microsoft's official page states that a free tier is available with a signed-in Microsoft account, with some capabilities subject to usage limits.

Does either one train on what I make?

ChatGPT's official plans page states that content is used to train its models and that an opt-out is available. Microsoft's official page points to its Privacy Statement, but the text we captured does not state a training policy for Copilot, so this site does not publish one.

Can I edit images in either one?

Neither official page read for this comparison describes image editing tools. Both are compared here for image creation only, and any editing claim beyond that is not published on this site.

↑