Which AI Image Tools Let You Start Free? Free Tiers, Trials and Sign-In (2026)
Which AI image tools show a free entry on their official pages: ChatGPT, Copilot, Recraft, Reve, FLUX, Firefly, Stable Diffusion. Free tier, trial, sign-in, and gaps. Checked 2026-10-14.
Verdict: Three of the tools read for this page describe a free entry on their own sites: ChatGPT on a limited Free tier, Microsoft Copilot with a Microsoft account, and Recraft through a “Try it free” action. Reve and FLUX describe a sign-in or a playground without stating a free tier. Firefly and Stable Diffusion do not state a free tier in the pages read for this page.
Scorecard
The entries below are copied from vendor pages read on 2026-10-14. “Not stated” marks a page that says nothing on the point. It does not mean the tool charges for that step.
| tool | free entry, as stated | sign-in | source |
|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Free tier with limited image creation | account | chatgpt.com/pricing |
| Microsoft Copilot | free tier with a Microsoft account, usage limits | Microsoft account | copilot.microsoft.com |
| Recraft | “Try it free” | sign-in step | recraft.ai |
| Reve | not stated | sign-in | reve.com |
| FLUX | playground, “no code required”; free status not stated | playground | bfl.ai |
| Adobe Firefly | not stated in captured page | not stated | firefly.adobe.com |
| Stable Diffusion | not stated; Self-Hosted License and Platform API listed | not stated | stability.ai |
The three clear entries
ChatGPT. OpenAI’s plans page lists image creation on a Free tier that is limited, and then on Go, Plus and Pro. The free entry is the start of a ladder rather than a separate product, so the limit is the thing to test first.
Microsoft Copilot. Microsoft’s page states that a free tier is available with a signed-in Microsoft account, and that capabilities on that tier are subject to usage limits. The entry is useful for a first test, but the page does not give the size of the limit.
Recraft. The homepage has a “Try it free” action that leads to a sign-in page. The page does not explain what the trial includes or how long it lasts, so read the sign-in page before you commit any work to it.
Entries the pages leave open
Reve. Its official model page describes images created, edited and designed with Reve, behind a sign-in step. It does not state a free tier on the captured page, so this site does not describe one.
FLUX. Black Forest Labs’ homepage describes a playground where you can “try instantly” with “no code required.” It also describes an API and a route to run open weights on your own infrastructure. The captured text does not say whether the playground is free or how many generations it allows.
Adobe Firefly. The Firefly homepage describes an all-in-one AI creative studio with 30+ models. It does not state a free tier in the captured text.
Stable Diffusion. Stability AI’s page lists a Self-Hosted License and a Platform API. It does not state a free entry, and this site does not describe self-hosting as free.
Why a free entry is not the whole answer
A free entry tells you that you can start, not that the tool will cover your work. The limit, the terms for commercial use and the output you can export all sit in places these pages do not describe. For a free trial, the question is whether it gives you enough generations to judge quality on your own prompts. For a free tier, the question is whether the limit still fits next month’s work.
Fit by starting goal
- Quick first image with a chat tool: ChatGPT or Copilot, since both pages name a free entry.
- A design test with editable output: Recraft, since its page offers a “Try it free” entry and names editable vector output.
- A trial of an open-weight model: FLUX’s playground, with the caveat that its free status is not stated on the page.
Sign-up steps to run through
- Read the free entry on the vendor’s own page, not on a review or a search snippet.
- Note whether the entry needs a sign-in, and which account you will use.
- Write down the usage limit if the page states one. If it does not, say so in your notes.
- Check the commercial-use terms before you publish anything made in the free entry.
- Re-check on the day you start, because these entries change.
Limits of this page
bestfreephotoshopalternative.com runs no trials on any of these tools. The entries above are the vendors’ own descriptions, read on 2026-10-14. Where a page does not state a free entry, this site does not supply one from memory or from a third party. Prices and limits are not published here, because none of the captured pages states them.
FAQ
Which AI image tools have a free tier on their official pages?
ChatGPT's official plans page lists image creation on a limited Free tier. Microsoft Copilot's official page states a free tier with a Microsoft account, with some capabilities subject to usage limits. Recraft's official homepage offers a Try it free entry that leads to sign-in.
Is a free trial the same as a free tier?
No. A trial is a time-limited test, and a free tier is an ongoing plan with limits. The vendor pages read for this article use both words, and this site treats them as different things. Check the vendor's own wording before you assume either one.
Does a free playground mean free image generation?
Not necessarily. Black Forest Labs' official page describes a playground where you can try FLUX models with no code required, but the captured text does not say whether that playground is free or how many generations it allows.